Changes in the work front

I am a veterinarian. I am also a wife, a sister, a daughter, a mother!!!!, and so many other things, but ultimately, and often foremost, I am a veterinarian. For this career and passion, I have sacrificed everything from sleep to proper meals to precious time with my Airman husband and family. Years of time. Missing saying goodbye before deployments and hellos when he returns. Leaving him alone in the high plains of NM, at one of the most difficult bases to be stationed at. Not being there for dinners and holidays. The theory that doctors get ample financial reimbursement is ludicrous. For all of the reasons above and more,

Well. I took a stand.

Holy crap.

I let my current place of employment know that I can’t continue working the schedule I have. If I do, I will have to leave. I stressed that I understand that we work at a 24 hour facility and that, as thus, there are certain allowances doctors must make. So if it wasn’t possible to have a different schedule, I understand.

They actually offered a better schedule! I will be working 1 weekend day one week, and have a 4-5 day weekend the next week. I almost crapped my pink scrub pants.

So we are trying a new schedule. And I’ll see how it works. I’m wicked excited because I’ll have so much more time with S. All for working a couple longer days.

I feel so blessed.

16 thoughts on “Changes in the work front”

  1. Wow! Good for you for asking. I always say that it doesn’t hurt to ask, may it be a discount, a pay raise, or a salary negotiation before you say yes to a job. I am so happy for you for your new schedule! And boy, your little girl is so adorable. Enjoy more time with her!

    1. Thanks, lady! Of course we are smitten, but I feel like we are biased ;). I’m super happy that they are changing things. I’m nervous that it might not last but I have a schedule through the end of December at least. It’s be nice just to spend time with the husband too. Speaking of which… How is Bob and how are you doing? I’ve been thinking of you both.

      1. That’s so amazing, so happy for you lady!

        Haha I love it! She’s great! Such a little spitfire with a ton of personality! This 8-9 month age is my favorite so far!

        Next weekend is the big Iowa/Iowa State game. Be watching for pics of her decked out in cyclone gear! 🙂

      1. rough – have lost countless ounces of breastmilk to refused bottles and a spill in the ice bath after i scalded some. have 14 open charts to complete too. at least it’s a 3-day weekend! just hoping i don’t get called in sunday.

      2. I totally pulled the short stick too.. A 12 tomorrow, then an 8-5, and a noon to 9. But i get tuesday off… Yay? Im hoping all the sickos stay home, lady!!! And i almost hope the charts get lost?

      1. I know I don’t comment often :/. Things are so hectic that I haven’t been able to keep up with blog posts. But I am so glad to hear everything is going well!!! And thank you so much for thinking of me. You are the sweetest! ❤️

Leave a Reply

