Well hot damn

Yesterday I had come to terms with our current location. In fact, just this weekend, I said to the Hubs that it was okay here, there was really just as many crappy things about this base as there are about other bases. It’s really fine.

Turns out, The Lord above has some other plans.

As of this morning, WE FINALLY RECEIVED ORDERS. I can’t even believe it. After 63+ months on post, over 5 years of drought and flies, we are beginning to out-process. And the best part is we are finally going to be closer to home, in the northwest. Smack right in the middle distance between our families. We haven’t been in the northwest in 10 years.

Here’s the real kicker though. Our report date is October 31st. That’s just over 3 months away. Meaning this sweet contract I procured is not coming to fruition. And, bloody hell, does that suck. Oh and we shall be 32ish weeks when we hit the road.

I’m beyond excited but I’m nervous about being unemployed. I’m nervous about finding a new Ob. I’m nervous about waddling across the country at 32 weeks. But I’m still so stoked I can’t believe it. We are going home.

Plan is to tell Boss Man Monday when he returns from holiday. Then to start blanket contacting all the veterinary clinics. And to get this hot mess of Ob stuff figured out.

And to move back home!

22 thoughts on “Well hot damn”

      1. Goodness gracious, 64 months seems like forever in military life! We are doing okay. PCSing has been rough. The two week trip to visit families was good but exhausting. Now just waiting until August to move out of base hotel. Please dear God may your PCS be more smooth, especially since you will be further along.

      2. I know, I am soooo hoping that everything will work out okay. I just can’t imagine the hassle of finding housing and getting Tricare all situated. Worse comes to worse, I just want a green light that everything is fine to remove some of the stress. If it is okay, I think I can swing solo for a little bit in order to figure out the nonsense of Tricare. I’m glad your babies are doing good! But I hope that the placenta previa resolves! Do you love DC?

      3. Tricare should only be an issue if you are switching between Prime and Standard. If you need to switch, make sure you do it before the 20th of the month. If you switch on the 19th the change goes into effect on the 1st of the following month, otherwise you need to wait until the month after. I didn’t call until June 26th like a ding dong. I think I will like DC even better once we are able to settle into our place. One of my best friends is here though so that is great. So happy you will be closer to families! October will be here before you know it πŸ™‚

    1. It’ll be fine, right? I am just going to try to realize that life tends to work out, it will be fine, and it totally is worth the stress for the rewards. Much like IF journeys, huh?

    1. Ahhh, thanks lovely! We are so very excited. Nervous about all the big changes but damn excited to be finally leaving this base. And excited to be home. It makes the last 5+ years on this post worth it! How are you doing?

  1. Isn’t it funny how everything happens all at once? And just when you had a plan in place! But yay for moving back home!

  2. yay! Congrats! Don’t stress because if this is where God is calling you to go, then He will provide all the resources and strength along the way. Just trust and you will be perfectly fine πŸ™‚ Sending you hugs! xo

    waitingforbabybird.com

Leave a Reply

