Ultrasounds!!!

We are now entering the week of IUI #2.  To date this cycle has been pretty lovely with zero pharmaceutical side-effects and the ease of having been through an IUI before.  I feel even more confident because there is always something we are doing to prepare, whether it be ultrasounds, the femara, or even post-IUI meds.  I have always said I am a body in motion and this mini-stim protocol is a perfect distraction.

Tomorrow is the all-important CD11/12 ultrasound to check how my little ladies are doing.  Hopefully they have been quite busy nurturing at least a couple gorgeous follicles.  I would really love 3 or 4.  I can’t say that I am not nervous for this appointment though.  I know that many of you lovely ladies had great responses on letrozole and I am really, desperately praying that I will have a similar response.  Please, oh please, dear follies, show some fantastic stuff in the am!!

In the meantime, I received our all important druggy package.  Funny how those really small suppositories and itty bitty pre-filled syringe came in such an enormous FedEx box.  Talk about overkill.  I did get a little nervous butterflies while I investigated that Hcg syringe…needles are so awful.  And I totally get the irony of me making such a statement.  It is quite funny, when you think of it.

Side note:  My intestinal resection/anastomosis patient is doing fantastic!!  I am so thrilled.  She is eating and was happily trying to play with her owners when they came to visit today.  We are still not out of the woods but I feel so much more optimistic about her recovery!!!

11 thoughts on “Ultrasounds!!!”

  1. Right there with ya girl! Good luck at your appointment, I hope there are several good sized follicles!! Did you do the HCG shot with your first IUI? I’m a little anxious about it too, even though this will be my second time giving it to myself……it probably never gets “normal” giving yourself shots!

    1. Thanks, chica! I would like I guess, at least one really amazing follicle…just one! I didn’t do the trigger with the first IUI. That one was pretty unmonitored, with the exception of OPKs. So I am really, really hoping for a better go of the whole cycle with it being monitored. And I am really, REALLY hoping we both rock this whole injection thing…can’t be that bad, right?

      1. It’s really not that bad. I just get really bad anxiety thinking about it. I promise it didn’t even hurt. Does yours have to be intramuscular? I’ve heard of others whose don’t have to be, and I think that makes it easier.

  2. Yay for IUI#2 week! Don’t worry about the HCG syringe…it goes into your belly fat and you can’t even feel it…trust me I had comparison 😉 I hope your follies will grow nicely…can’t wait to hear about your ultrasound appointment 🙂 And, YAY for your little patient…I’m sure she’ll be fine!

    1. Thanks, lady. I was really, really worried about that little girl dog patient…such a big surgery for her and for her owners. I hope that syringe isn’t too bad! I am such a baby when it comes to my own health. Seriously, like a child 😉 I hope all is well with you too…I am just waiting for your BFP!

      1. I’m 7dpiui and late this afternoon I started to have cramping and lower back pain, which I’m not sure is a good sign. Usually, a few days before AF shows up I get lower back pain…I’m not keeping up my hopes too much. Good luck with the trigger shot…I know you can do it and trust me it’s a relatively short and thin needle…just breath in when you poke yourself…doctors of any kind are the worst patients…lol…j/k 😉

  3. Don’t be too dissapointed if you only have one or two potential follies. The femara usually produces less but they are supposibly better quality. Good luck! So excited to hear how it goes! Everything crossed for you hun!

    1. Good heads up…I guess I am totally ok with one or two really amazing, beautiful, perfect follicles. Or just one that wants to give us a chance at the whole parenthood thing. And I am so stoked for your graduation….yay!! Maybe in a few months we’ll graduate with you!!

  4. I am in my IUI week too! But I am unmonitored, so I don’t get to know how my follies are doing, or trigger ovulation. Good luck, I hope you have lots of ripe, juicy ones waiting!

Leave a comment